Harry J. Longwell, executive vice president of ExxonMobil Corp., will retire at the end of 2004.

Nabors Industries promoted Joe M. Hudson to the position of president, Nabors Drilling USA LP.

Multiwave Geophysical appointed Svein Kjellesvik chief executive officer.

Calvalley Petroleum Inc. named W.J. Shane McMullen C.A. chief financial officer, David A. Winter senior vice president of exploration and production, and Thomas E. Valentine corporate secretary.

Edward J. Kalthoff has been appointed vice president, land, for Innova Exploration Ltd.

Steven B. Coleman, left, has been promoted to senior vice president and general manager of EOG Resources, Inc.

Anadarko Petroleum Corp. added H. Paulett Eberhart to its board of directors.

Murphy Oil Corp. elected Neal E. Schmale to its board of directors.

George L. Hampton III joined Torrent Energy Corp.'s board of directors.

L.E. Simmons elected to retire from Varco International Inc.'s board of directors.

Hydril appointed Chris D. North as chief financial officer.

George F. Clark joined Output Exploration LLC as chief financial officer.

Scott Chamberlain joined SolArc Inc. as chief financial officer.

Output Exploration LLC promoted Gary S. Grinsfelder to the position of executive vice president, exploration and business development. Douglas C. Teague was promoted to the position of vice president, engineering and operations.

Minerals Management Service named Jim Grant chief of staff, office of the regional director; Joe Gordon deputy regional supervisor, field operations, for regional operations; and Lars Herbst deputy regional supervisor for district operations in the office of field operations in the Gulf of Mexico region.

Kelly Grimes was appointed vice president of sales and marketing at CDK Services.

Baker Hughes Inc. promoted Halina Caravello to director, HS&E for Baker Hughes Oilfield Operations.

Cudd Pressure Control Inc. named Les Skinner vice president and division manager.

ABB appointed Buddy DeVoe as vice president, North American oil and gas business.

Matt Gaskamp joined Geotrace as senior systems administrator in the Houston Imaging Center.

Aimee Coates, left, joined Sonsub's regional sales team in Houston.

The Trustees of the Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation elected James M. King as their 51st president.


Petroleum Geo-Services appointed Diz Mackewn group senior vice president, geophysical. Rune Eng will replace him as president, marine geophysical.

Norsk Hydro named Oeystein Michelsen head of its oil and energy operations at Sandsli, Norway.

In a UK government reshuffle Stephen Timms was replaced by Mike O'Brien, left, as Minister of State for Energy, responsible for oil and gas, coal, electricity and ecommerce.

Statoil's new president and chief executive, Helge Lund, introduced a new corporate executive committee with executive vice presidents appointed. Responsibilities are: Terje Overvik exploration and production, Norway; Peter Mellbye, international E&P; Rune Bjørson, natural gas; Jorn Arnt Jacobsen, manufacturing and marketing; Morten Loktu, technology and projects; Eldar Saertre (Særtre), chief financial officer responsible for planning, finance and control; Margareth Øvrum, health, safety and environment; and Erling Øverland, staff and special projects.

Former Shell drilling engineer Mike Sibson was appointed investment director by Aberdeen-based venture capital group 3i.

Vladislav Surkov joined the board of directors of Transnefteproduct.

Varel International is opening a new office in Pau, France. Key personnel in the new location include:
Bernard Pontneau, vice president, international operations; Bruno Cuillier de Mindreville, production manager, eastern hemisphere operations; Gilles Puyoulet, product manager; Michel de Reynal, geoscience and data specialist; Alfazazi Dourfaye, R&D manager; and Bernard Vinazza, regional manager, continental Europe.

Larry Anderson has been named persident and general manager of BG Kazakhstan.
Roxar named Brett Farquhar sales manager in Asia Pacific.

Roxar named Blair Shimmield sales manager for the Middle East.